Home Page

Stoke GoldingtonCofE First School


At Stoke Goldington CE School we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage and the Key Stage 1 national curriculum for years 1 and 2.  The following gives you information and links  about the curriculum.


Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

In our school our EYFS class is our Reception class, children start in the September in the year in which they turn 5.  The curriculum is based on 17 areas of learning which are broken down into milestones culminating in the Early Learning Goal (ELG).  Children's learning is focussed on three characteristics of effective learning:  playing and exploring, active learning, creative and critical thinking.


Teaching in EYFS is centres on pupils interests, the 17 areas are planned for through a theme, such as 'growing', or centred around a book, activities are planned for inside and out so children can access the 17 areas of learning.  Through skilled questioning teachers take pupils leanring forward guiding them to discover new skills.  Most learning is child initiated a small proportion is teacher led, such as handwriting, letter formation, maths skills, reading and phonics. 


The children have a daily phonics session (see section on phonics) which starts at phase 1/2 or 3 depending on the individuals starting points.


EYFS children learn to read using the books available in school which are banded in colours.

Characteristics of Effective Learning

Picture 1

EYFS Early Learning Goals

EYFS Early Learning Goals 1
At Stoke Goldington CE school we use 'Cornerstones' for our curriculum topic planning.  The following is an overview of each topic and the subject content.  Each topic as a subject focus i.e. science, geography, but all topics cover all subjects. Cornerstones publishes supporting materials for each topic so we provide a braod and balanced curriculum for all pupils.

Parents Guide to the National Curriculum



Your child starts to learn to read as soon as they start school.  Words are displayed all around and are highlighted throughout the day.  Your child will learn key words initially, cvc word (consonant vowel consonant)  i.e cat, dog, mum etc.  They learn to decode with phonics and learn sight words.  We focus on the first 100 key and tricky words to begin with and increase in line with individual needs.


Your child will bring a book home, these are colour banded, starting with lilac which are books without words so that your child can share the book with you and talk about the story, this is an important stage of reading, knowing the orientation of a book, that stories follow a system of begnning, middle and end, and to engage your child in talking about books.  The books progress from key words, to short sentences all the way up to chapter books.


Please read with your child at home at least 3x a week, research shows that children who are reading and sharing books at home regulalry are more proficient readers at an earlier stage.

Top Tips for Reading at Home

Picture 1
Picture 2
Picture 3
Phonics is a system of sounds in words, there are 44 phonemes that children need to learn in order to decode words in the English language.  These are taught from the 'Letters and Sounds' guidance using a varierty of resources, such as 'Phonics Play' an online phonics programme, and various resources in schools.


Phonics 1
We follow the Milton Keynes RE syllabus which has been written in conjunction with the Oxford Diocese RE syllabus.